0

Sunday Seems Like Saturday

Having worked a half day yesterday, today seems like a Saturday without work. Fortunately, I remembered to be up at 4 am to have coffee and some cereal before dressing for Mass at 9 am. I try to arrive at least half an hour early and today I managed to forget my water bottle. Without water breaks I croak, so I brought a cup of water in from the kitchenette in the Narthex. It wasn’t all that helpful, as there are not many places to leave an open cup of water, but it was better than no water at all.

Joe and Marietta were there, with Len, Mark and Olivia and Theresa was playing the Church organ. Louis also arrived with his parallel English and Latin Missal. I will have to ask him where he got it, as mine is from St Paul’s Bookshop and only has English text. Bernice has broken her arm, so the Filipino Group does not have a musician at present. I’m not sure whether I could step in on occasions like those, as I don’t practice keyboard very often and would need at least two hours a week to get up to speed with the Music Ministry repertoire.

In the afternoon, I covered some more of my Adult Language, Literacy and Numeracy subject. Mum and I went shopping for a birthday present for Dad as it is his birthday tomorrow. It’s socks and jocks for him, as he needs new supplies. Easy….

0

Saturday Morning at Work

On Saturday I went in to Nundah Village for my half day of work. It was a great opportunity to do some marking and I helped two students with training, one who came in and another who worked with my by telephone.

By the time it was afternoon, I was very hungry and glad to be going home for lunch. There were two pieces of fish in the freezer which I cooked in the microwave. Then Mum and I went grocery shopping. It was very quiet at the shopping centre as we have had an extended summer and lots of people would be out at the beach or finishing off their Easter and School holidays. After a quiet week on the roads into the city last week, everyone is bracing for a big week next week when people return from their visits interstate, to New Zealand and to Asia.

It would be better to go to work without my extra stuff and just put everything on SkyDrive so that I don’t have to carry so much with me. I till experiment on Sunday with packing only a few things and see how I go. That would be ideal, to be able to go to work without carrying all the equipment I need. I guess I think too much like a teacher, having to take everything with me from room to room, provide my own filing systems and equipment for the students.

Issuing students with a laptop seems to be a strategy to provide them with their one-stop-shop for everything they need and make it the students’ responsibility to find all their requirements online. I know I try to find what I need online where ever possible.