The wonders of the heat sink

Faced with slightly less hot weather and a still overheating laptop, I decided to make a heat sink.  It is easy enough to do with a fairly flat plate, which is a bit larger than a saucer.  Then I added a freezer block.  I put these next to the part that overheats and turn the plate a quarter turn every now and then.

It seems to take some of the heat out of the laptop and disperses it enough for me to keep working. 

The weather forecast is for fairly warm days with some clouds, so the next week is looking hopeful.  Today is also Australia Day and it has been perfectly sunny and not too hot for going out, playing cricket or just having a quiet day.  The public holiday is tomorrow.

Next week I need to meet my supervisors to see how to tie up the thesis.  Fortunately it is making a lot more sense now, so I hope that I am on the right track.  My reading continues to make sense, so I am taking lots of notes and rewriting, formatting Figures to be clearer than before and checking all my acronyms, references and sentence flow.

It’s nice to be able to work on this, now that the heat sink seems to be working well enough to allow me to keep going.

Leave a Reply

