The Second Last Day of 2013

Today is another part of the mini-weeks we have in the lead up to the New Year 2014.  Tuesday will be New Year’s Eve.  Wednesday is a public holiday.  It will feel like a Sunday, just like Christmas Day.

We received two Christmas cards from Germany today, but did not send many this year in favour of telephoning everyone.  I think it is better to prepare Christmas cards much earlier than November or December, as there always seems to be a lot happening at the end of the year.

My teacher registration update came in the mail toady, which included my Graduate Certificate in Education.  It has been a good year in teaching for me, mostly because my studies in Education have been very relevant and extremely helpful.  Thank God that I have a profession such as teaching to which I can relate.  Thank God also for all teachers, as the world would be chaotic without us, even if everyone had a laptop.

Mum fell over in the garden yesterday and hurt her arm again.  Thankfully, she seems to have no other aches and pains from the fall.  I heard her calling me and ran out to see what she wanted.  It was a bit of a shock to see her on the ground with a broken glass jar where her feet had slipped.  I called Dad so that we could lift her back to her feet.  She is able to walk and was just a bit shaken up by the whole thing.

Today she was hanging out washing in an effort to make her arm work harder.  She has trouble lifting one arm past her shoulder.  It was brave of her to try, though, and she seems to be fairly fine with it all.

If only we could find a way to give her exercises that will help, like physical therapy.  I think it is possible, but might have to check with her doctor or physiotherapist first.

My papers are looking a bit more tidy now that they were last week.  I still have a lot of sorting to do, but I think it is one of those jobs that can be left to the times when I want to think while keeping busy on something other than what I am sorting out in my mind. 

In a couple of weeks, I start my Masters in Education as there is a Block teaching session before Semester starts.  Some of my colleagues from last year have graduated, but I might see some old friends from before if they are doing their studies part-time, like me. 

By the end of the year, I should have completed some really important studies and developed a good teaching strategy for whatever classes I need to teach.  I think I will have much better electronic and paper document management, including the Cloud.  My fitness training will be more of an interesting routine and I will be walking and jogging very regularly.  I will have lots of new friends and colleagues and will be better with catching up with lots of them.

I can see myself being well organised, tidy, busy with my friends and fit.  Ideally, I will have also been to the dentist to have my filling changed to the white ones.  My hair will be longer and I will be able to keep it very  neat and wear it out when I need to.  God willing, and if I work hard in the next few weeks, I will be at my graduation ceremony for my Masters in IT (Research) degree.

My theme for some of my work will be, “Whatever it takes”, especially when I make excuses and feel like procrastinating.

Leave a Reply

