Less than 3 weeks to Christmas

I have been looking for Christmas gifts for a few months now and hope I will be prepared for Christmas this year.  It’s the second week of Advent already and Christmas Day is a Wednesday this year.

For 2014, I downloaded a calendar for school holidays and university Semesters.  There will be some preparation that is possible, such as a book of activities for students from Prep to Year 12, including Special Needs students.  Sometimes I think it’s easier just to put these things on a USB drive.  Then I can send them to a folder for printing which the Teacher Aided can take to the office for class sets.

I have learned so much this year from supply teaching and have really enjoyed the work, the people and the school environments.  For 2014 I will also be preparing physical activities that students can do as part of PE classes.  There are lots of resources available, thanks to the internet.

Yesterday I discovered more resources to e-mail to one of my supply teaching schools, after an hour or two of searching and testing the content.  I also found great information on learning in the information age which will be relevant across lots of my interests.  Thankfully, the discipline I had to develop for working at my computer on a regular basis is developing habits for finding a wide range of resources and information quickly.  It really is worthwhile to undertake a research degree.  It’s even better to finish it, which is next on my agenda with the Early Childhood update.

So, Christmas promises to be a blur this year.  It will be a thankful oasis of rest in a very crazy and fun year.  It’s been a great year for discipline, using local resources and connecting with local communities.  It’s also been great for thinking and persevering, two great skills that deserve more work on my part.

 

Leave a Reply

