Rheumatoid Arthritis research

Yesterday I spent the day preparing a report and presentation on injury prevention in clients with rheumatoid arthritis (RA).  The topic is very interesting, as I had not realised that women in their first pregnancy are one of the main groups at risk of developing symptoms.

To my surprise, I found an Australian article, a website and the text book article to be very helpful.  What remains a mystery is the effect of all the medications on exercise response, although there are some general guidelines. 

I’m guessing that if you can’t grasp with your hands or flex your feet much, that limits a lot of the gym-based exercises that require equipment, dumb bells, bikes, treadmills and the like.  Thank goodness for water aerobics and swiss balls!

I also have another topic to sort out in the next couple of days and hope to fit that in with my work at a local Special School today.  I was at the school last week with some delightful children and their therapists.  Hopefully it will go well today.

Leave a Reply

