10 Cabbages

My brother and nephew came to visit on Friday when I was out.  They brought Mum’s birthday present – 10 large cabbages!  She was amazed!  Although she likes vegetables, she is not so keen that she wants them every birthday.

However, she loves making her own sauerkraut, so I suppose she will be happy when all the work is done.  For now, it is just a lot of cutting and salting down and lots of fragrant cabbage odours while they ferment into sauerkraut.

She was flabbergasted at the time, but is now in the kitchen busy processing cabbages.  It is so odd.  We have a washing basket next to the kitchen full of big, round cabbages.  She has a shredding tool in the kitchen and is using it as I write.

I’m guessing this is the last time she will be receiving cabbages for her birthday.  She always says she does not want anything and that she has everything that she needs.  My brother is so good at noticing where there is a space for making her life more complete.

I just wonder what he has in store for my birthday.  I can hardly wait!

Leave a Reply

