Life changing experiences

What was the one experience that completely changed your life? What happened? How did it change your life?

I was in the laundry of the Canberra Youth Hostel when my mobile phone rang.  It was a lecturer from my university responding to my request for tutoring work. 
He actually had a strong accent, so it was difficult for me to tell whether he was male or female.  Despite the confusion, I know that when I returned from my visit to Canberra, I would be going for a job interview.

Now this was a few years ago, and since then I have been tutoring, lecturing, working as a Project Coordinator and Senior Research Assistant as well as doing studies at the university.  My master’s research thesis is very close to completion in Information Technology, an area I would never have chosen for higher degree research.

So, I suppose that the telephone call changed my life, because it led to a long association with the university at a time when I had just finished a long contract in Administration and Project support at State Government level.

The time leading up to my thesis completion has been way out of my comfort zone and was entirely unexpected.  Sometimes, it’s good to have goals and expectations, so long as they are flexible and open to interpretation.

I struggle at times to bring together all the interests and various roles I have taken on since starting as a tutor at the university.  It seems that looking to the future and persevering are the main things I have learned from the experience of that unexpected phone call I took in Canberra on that fateful day.

Leave a Reply

